Very Pinteresting

14 May

I’m on a forced vacation.  Wait, that sounds bad.  This week off of work certainly isn’t a bad thing. Let’s just say that I have more vacation time accrued than I should, and if I don’t use it I’m going to lose it.

Hence, one week off.

This is Jason’s busiest time of year at work, so him getting a week off isn’t happening.  And with as crazy as my job has been over the past few months, planning a trip on my own was just too exhausting.  So I’m home.  Alone.  With no plans.

If you didn’t know, I’m a little addicted to Pinterest.  Jason would like you to know this is an understatement…and doesn’t hesitate to remind me of what a time-suck it is.  And I completely agree with him, except I keep finding really useful and cool stuff on it.

It seems like every time I get a day off, I spend it trying  all the Pinterest projects I’ve been saving forever.  Except that I don’t do fun Pinterest projects, like our friend Jennifer who made a cool mirror out of plastic spoons.  Nope. I get into all the dirty Pinterest projects, like using various formulas involving baking soda to clean nearly everything in the house.

Where was I going with this…

Oh yes.  This blog is supposed to be about Jason and my food and drink adventures.

In addition to finding creative ways to clean things, I’ve also amassed a huge collection of recipes to try.  Some of them are a bit exotic and require some serious preparation and technique.  Others are recipes that I should already have experience with, but have never ventured to make.

Tonight’s recipe was one such shoulda-done-this-a-long-time-ago meals.  I give you: Meatless Zucchini Lasagna, courtesy of the Taste of Home website.

Zucchini Lasagna

First impressions?  I was shocked by how easy this was to throw together.  My mom made lasagna regularly when I was a kid, and I always imagined it was a hardship to prepare.  I mean, with so many layers, surely it’s complicated…right?   Because of this, as an adult I’ve subsisted on Stouffer’s lasagna. Pop it in the oven and set the timer; what could be easier?  And even though it’s not as good as mom’s, it’s still cheesy, tomato-ey, and comforting.

Here’s the sad thing.  I haven’t eaten lasagna in years because one day I made the mistake of looking at the nutrition information on the back of the Stouffer’s box.  It’s downright scary.

So lasagna and I haven’t been friends for a while.  But since I had some time to kill this afternoon, I thought I’d take a shot at making it at home.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly (there are no-boil noodles and pre-made marinara sauce involved – it just seemed the safe thing to do), but even if I had, this recipe would have been a cinch.

This is a satisfying dish, even without meat.  Jason loved it, and admits that Pinterest does have some useful applications.

What projects tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

