The Details

11 Apr

Beware of the person who can’t be bothered with the details.  ~William Feather

DSC_0219I am a VERY amateur photographer.  I’d like to be less amateur, so about a year and a half ago we bought a DSLR before embarking on a holiday trip to Savannah.  Jason had taken a photography class in college, and I’d taken class a few years prior with a film SLR.  Surely we’d be able to figure it out and capture quality scenes from our trip.  Right?

Lesson learned on that trip:  it’s hard to take ugly pictures of something that’s beautiful.

Savannah, without a doubt, is one of our favorite cities.  The food, the locals, the history, the architecture…everything about that town is beautiful (note to self…book another trip there.  Soon.).

Anyway, my point is that Savannah’s pretty, and that even using the most basic settings on a camera it was hard for us to screw it up.  Since then, I’ve wanted to get to know how to make the camera do what I want and how to compose images more intentionally.  So as an anniversary present, Jason got me a gift certificate for a photography class given by local photographer Janet Boschker of Northlight Photography.

We started the class early on a Saturday morning at the studio; there were about 20 people, ranging in skill level from ‘mom-tographer’ to a guy who has been shooting landscapes for more than 25 years.  We ran through the basics and then headed to the streets of Plaza Midwood to capture some images.

The idea was that we would shoot in Plaza Midwood for a bit and consult with the photographer as we went.   With such a large group, she had her hands full.  Being the genius that I am, I brought the wrong lens with me (This isn’t a photography blog, so I won’t bore you with the details), so I couldn’t really get the pictures I wanted to.

Some unexpected wisdom came to me as we meandered down Central Ave, trying to stay out of each others’ way and not trip over someone who had just crouched down to get an unexpected angle.

Charlotte’s details are beautiful.

You know Fuel Pizza on Central Ave? I’ve always appreciated it from the standpoint that it’s gotten us home a few nights when we were badly in need of carbs and cheese to balance out a late night of drinking.  But from a distance, I’d never really noticed the building.  Getting up close with a camera forces you to notice the little things. And they’re actually quite lovely.

DSC_0242

DSC_0220

How much more fun would it be to pump gas if all gas pumps all had dinosaur stickers on them?

DSC_0239

DSC_0230

DSC_0223

The next time you’re on the porch, look up. Yellow!

Our other stop was Fifteen Ten Antiques.  I’ve seen it a bunch of times, but never gone in.  All I can say is whoa. And I mean that in the nicest possible way.  This place is a repository of delightfully old and sometimes creepy things.  I seriously struggled with just perusing for odd items to take home rather than seeking out the perfect shot.

DSC_0246

A shelf full of future Pinterest projects…

DSC_0257

DSC_0250

A bowl of marbles. I wanted to bring this home with me, but I’m on a bowl-buying moratorium.

DSC_0247

It’s a cookie jar lid.  The rabbit’s benignly chomping on a carrot, but I believe he would try to eat your soul if given the chance.

DSC_0248

What scares you more? The disembodied mannequin head or the appearance of a cold sore on the disembodied mannequin head?

DSC_0262

Cozy. So cozy.

DSC_0256

Sitting would be so much more fun if all chairs looked like this.

DSC_0255

Trying to look like I know what I’m doing!

I’m so impressed with big beautiful shots of Uptown Charlotte, and I’ve always wanted to take one.  You know, the epic picture with the skyline and some weather in the background…but as I walked around Fuel and  through the antique store taking little shots of small things I realized that what I really love are the bits and pieces.  The details.

3 Responses to “The Details”

  1. Lee April 11, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Hi – I was scanning through #photography blogs, and saw your “Fuel” shot – exactly the kind of thing I like to take pictures of! I’m a fellow North Carolinian, and Savannah and Charleston are two of my favorite places.

    I have a couple of book recpmendations for your and your husband. First, I’d read Scott Kelby’s “Digital Photography” series of books (there are four, but the first three come as a set and are great), and then Bryan Peterson’s terrific “Understanding Exposure.” These books are easy to read and were a huge help to me getting my photography going.

    Feel free to stop by my blog, too. It is called “Enthusiast Photographer” and you’ll find some fairly recent photos from Charleston. If you didn’t get a chance to check out Boneventure in Savannah, maybe it will give you a reason to go back for some photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/e24mpwr/sets/72157627025303965/)

    Anyway, nice blog and photos! Cheers!

    Lee..

    • Jason April 11, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Lee,

      Took a quick glance at your blog. Love the images from all over. My favorite of all that I saw, was the older gentleman with his head buried in the books. I’ll be sure to go back and read the blog more carefully. Christy will love your images. I think she has a real eye for photography and she really likes textures and details that make photos captivating. I’ll make sure she looks at your blog as well! Happy shooting!

      Jason

    • Christy April 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Lee, thanks for reading and thanks for the book recommendations. I will definitely look into getting them. “Enthusiastic Photographer” is great; your photos from Beijing are wonderful.

      We were able to spend a few hours at Bonaventure when we were in Savannah – some of our photos from that day are here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/seekingdelight/sets/72157628801893815/. If you go back anytime soon – be sure to check out Zunzi’s. Not for photos, but for amazing sandwiches 🙂

      Thanks again for reading and for the recommendations. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

