Oh Hello Wine…I Remember You!

29 Apr

It’s been a long time since I last sat down and had a few glasses of wine at dinner,  and then continued drinking into the evening. We’ve been on a craft beer kick, which is easy when you have so many amazing places in Charlotte to find something new every trip into town.

Red Wine

Forgot how good you are red wine…

But there was a time, not too long ago, when wine was our thing. We certainly never had a defined palate for what we drank, but we knew enough that any Pinot Grigio with a strong presence of grapefruit wouldn’t be a favorite, we prefer un-oaked Chardonnay, and we’re happy with almost any Spanish red you throw in front of us.

So a trip to Trader Joe’s led us to their wine section, where for very cheap, you can take a risk on some reds or whites that may or may not pan out. Again, we’re those people who do a happy dance when finding a cheap bottle of wine ($12 or under) that tastes great. We don’t equate quality by how much you shell out for a bottle. And so we were reintroduced to wine night.

A wine night, for us, seems very different from that of a beer night. I think I’m still transitioning from what beer drinking used to be for me (quantity over quality), so sitting down and enjoying a couple of craft beers doesn’t quite fill the void of what I expect when drinking beer. I see beer as a more social venture – something that is best experienced with a group of people. While wine requires a more intimate setting – which fits our idea of a good night in.

Sitting on the back porch, splitting a bottle (or two) of wine with Christy, and watching the fireflies come out is pretty much pure happiness for me. Throw in some good conversation and the sounds of The Avett Brothers playing in the background, and I’m content to stay there all night (or until the mosquitoes become too unbearable).

But I can’t replicate that type of night when beer is our drink of choice. Maybe it’s about pacing myself, but I’ve always consumed beer with relative quickness. It’s hard to relax, I guess, when I’m getting up every few  minutes (maybe not that quick) to refill my glass with another beer. Not to mention the “fullness” factor that you get with beer isn’t very comfortable either.

Does anyone else have the same problem? I’ll almost always order a beer when out to dinner or meeting with friends, because it seems more upbeat and lends itself to a social environment. A quiet, romantic dinner with Christy is more likely to be a wine event for us. As we continue to learn more and more about beer, I wonder if will take the place of wine in those quieter settings? Or will that warm fuzzy feeling I get from a few glasses of wine be too enticing and always hold a special place in our hearts for back porch Saturday nights?

Leave a Reply

