I Married That…

12 Mar

This is a sentimental post in honor of our wedding anniversary today.

For seven years, there hasn’t been a minute that I haven’t loved my husband with all my heart.  There have been quite a few minutes, however, when I’ve wondered if I’ve misjudged his sanity, or maybe misjudged my own.

Jason doesn’t talk excessively or get over-excited about too many things.  He’s generally pretty calm and collected, which balances my not-quite-diagnosed ADD pretty well.  But every now and then, he gets out of character.  He begins using bad puns or imitating Arnold Schwarzenegger.

There was one time, after many drinks at a beer festival, where he mimed pouring beer all over his shirt like a drunk guy – the only problem was that there was an actual cup in his hand that contained actual beer.  Which spilled all over his actual shirt.

One of my favorites is when he sometimes shouts “HEE-YAH!” like he’s a cowboy urging on a herd of cattle when we’re stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic on Hwy-74.  He’s also been known to shout that in a crowded bar before…thanks, alcohol.

And those are the times when I just look around at the people who’ve suddenly stopped talking to stare at us and say, “I married that…”  Usually that brings on a few chuckles, maybe a nod or two, and some knowing glances.  My beloved generally stands there looking proud of himself the whole time.

And I love it.

I fell in love with this guy because he could make me laugh and because he’s one of the smartest people I know.  I fell in love with him because of the aforementioned balance and calm that he provides to my franticness.  And I love when he gets out of his shell and does crazy things that are sometimes a little embarrassing.  Because I know deep down in some weird way, he’s doing it to make me laugh.  Not to make everyone else laugh (an added bonus for sure!) but to make me laugh.

Truthfully – aren’t all good relationships like this?  We get out of our comfort zone to help bring comfort and joy to the one that we love.

“I married that…” has become our team name for trivia and cornhole tournaments.  Some people find it funny, and also pretty appropriate given how bad we are at both cornhole and trivia.

Cheers to seven years and cheers to other couples that have “married that…”  I know I’m happy that I did.

2 Responses to “I Married That…”

  1. carolinalearningconnection March 12, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Perfect!
    Thank you

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scenes from Brevard | Ditch Chicken - A Food & Drink Adventure - April 3, 2013

    […] Plus, we’ve been married for eight years, people.  EIGHT YEARS. […]

Leave a Reply

