I’m a foodie…?

19 Jan

I’m a foodie, though I’m no food snob. At least…I don’t think I’m a food snob.  I’m probably more of a beer snob…but that’s an entirely different post.

Growing up, my family didn’t eat out a lot. When I questioned my parents about this, the response I typically received was, “why would we go pay someone to make us food when we can make it better here at home?” As a teenager, I found that attitude to be frustrating, but as an adult I have to admit that I get it.

I’ve found that when I measure the worth of a restaurant, I set the bar pretty high. If the food isn’t as good as what we can make at home, and the atmosphere isn’t as inviting as our couch, and the ambience doesn’t compare to dim lighting with votive candles and the Avett Brothers playing on the iPod – well, you’ve lost my interest.

I don’t mind paying for good food and a good atmosphere, but I also don’t think you have to break the bank.

Jason just reminded me that we usually do break the bank every time we go out because we’re beer snobs. Our tab for craft beer is usually higher than our tab for food. Again, that’s its own post.

What appeals to me? Fresh, preferably local ingredients prepared respectfully. I’m not interested in the “seasonal vegetables” that consist of the squash and zucchini sautéed in butter until they’ve lost all flavor and texture. I love cheese, but if I have to add it to my vegetables just to make them edible, I’ll pass – I’m talking to you, chain restaurants! To be fair, my dad kept a pretty extensive vegetable garden when I was growing up so I was spoiled with fresh, flavorful food all the time as a kid. I can tell when you pile on the seasoning to try to compensate for lack of natural flavor.

Not that I don’t enjoy a good box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese from time to time. And don’t get me started on Stovetop Stuffing.

Food doesn’t have to be complicated or exotic for me to enjoy it, it just needs to taste like it’s been prepared by someone who cares. Extra points if you do something fun to simple food to make it out-of-the-ordinary. I love a good burger-kudos if the chef puts a fried egg on top. I enjoy chicken wings-finish them on the grill please! I’ve been known to eat a fried pickle or two (or two hundred, as Jason will tell you) – they’re best if served with house-made ranch.

Throw in a seasonal craft beer (or two!) and you’ve sealed the deal.  How fortunate we are to live in a city with enough great restaurants to give us a reason to eat out!

3 Responses to “I’m a foodie…?”

  1. elizabethbirnbaum January 19, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    i’m with you on both the beer and the seasonality! nice post.

    • Christy January 19, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Thanks, elizabethbirnbaum! What seasonal beers are you into right now? We’re cleaning out the last of our holiday stash, so a trip to replenish our fridge is in the very near future.

  2. lyfeislove79 August 30, 2015 at 8:35 am #

    Loving your blog…it’s fun and interesting. I enjoy your perspective. Real, refreshing, and relevant content. Much appreciated. What are your favorite Restaurants in and around Charlotte?

Leave a Reply

