A Visit to VBGB Beer Hall & Garden

17 Dec

JASON – We’ve been here twice in less than a week – something we consider quite an accomplishment considering we live in Indian Trail. I am from Western NY originally. VBGB serves up Zweigle’s hot dogs and sausages (a staple Rochester, NY food). It’s tough to find these dogs anywhere in Charlotte.

They give you an option for a regular roll or a pretzel roll. Always opt for the pretzel! Everything is grilled (dog & bun) which makes for an amazing 5-10 minutes of eating heaven. And grab a hot pretzel too. I know..I know…you’re already eating the pretzel roll. It doesn’t matter – the hot pretzel is nicely salted, soft and served with a delicious beer cheese.

I almost forgot to mention the real reason to visit VBGB. The beer of course! On this particular visit I had a Greenman IPA (Asheville), and a Natty Greene’s Buckshot Amber Ale. Christy had the Victory Prima Pils and a Rogue Honey Orange Ale.

CHRISTY – What Jason forgot to mention was that the people at VBGB are half the fun!  It was slow that night, but we were there relatively early.  A little bit of context helps here – we’d just finished up a Christmas shopping spree in NoDa/Plaza Midwood and and worked our way through NoDa Brewing and Revolution Pizza before finally making it to VBGB.

We literally started drinking beer at 3:30, and I’d had a heavy hitter or two at Revolution before we finally made it to VBGB.  I’m no light weight, but it was time to slow down a bit.  I got a raised eyebrow from the bartender – which I totally appreciated.  I mean, who goes to a beer garden and says “I just had this really awesome/weird espresso amber back at Revolution…now I’d like a pilsner?”  He kindly obliged; see J’s note above.  I have no complaints.

We made friends with an off-duty server while we sipped our beverages, and discussed with her the pros/cons of living in Panama City. Final verdict – she has more pros since there’s a chance that the beach front home that’s currently in her family may one day be passed down to her.  Our pros – it was a kind of kick-ass spring break hangout 10 years ago *sniff sniff…single tear running down my cheek…*

There was a girl sitting by herself across the bar from us, completely comfortable noshing on bar food and throwing back a 10.9% abv Southern Tier Mokah Stout (hat’s off, girlfriend!), and an older couple that looked like they might be more at home playing shuffleboard than in a beer garden who expressed serious Zweigle envy when Jason picked up our order from the window and brought it back to the bar.

All in all, a delightful evening full of laughs and goodwill.  Not sure when we’ll make the trek back up to VBGB, but I hope it will be soon!

2 Responses to “A Visit to VBGB Beer Hall & Garden”

  1. Phil March 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Do you know anywhere that Zweigles are sold retail in the Charlotte area? I am a fellow former Upstate NY – Fairport (near Rochester), actually. Harris Teeter sold them last summer, but I was told they are no longer carrying them. Online sales are pretty $$$$.

    Thanks,

    Phil

    • Jason March 20, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Phil,

      Sorry for the delay in response. Teeter was the only place I knew that sold them. I’d walk by every week and see a full case of them. I knew it was only a matter of time before they stopped selling them. Just means we’ll be forced to go to VBGB to get our fix.

      Have you been to VBGB yet? Get it on the pretzel roll and order a pretzel with beer cheese. They are the best in Charlotte. The food is cheap, but you’ll pay for good beer there. Let me know if you find them for sale anywhere.

      Jason

Leave a Reply

